People

Faculty

Kalman P. Bland

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

Office: 230D Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90964

Phone: (919) 660-3518

Fax: (919) 660-3530

kpb@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Marc Zvi Brettler

Bernice and Morton Lerner Professor in Judaic Studies

Office: 230C Gray Building

Campus Box: 90964

marc.brettler@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Stephen Brian Chapman

Associate Professor of Old Testament

Office: 051 Langford, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90967

schapman@div.duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Roberto Maria Dainotto

Professor of Romance Studies

Office: 205 Lang, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90257

Phone: (919) 660-3121

Fax: 919-684-4029

Office Hours: W 11:30-12:30pm, or by appointment

dainotto@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Literature and Place, Nationalism and Regionalism, Aesthetic Theory, Italian Idealism, Translation Theory, Autobiography, Ideas of Europe, European Visions of the New World, The Cultural Formation of the Italian Nation.

Ellen F. Davis

Amos Ragan Kearns Professor of Bible and Practical Theology in the Divinity School

Office: 211 Old Divinity, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90967

Phone: (919) 660-3561

edavis@div.duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Maria E. Doerfler

Assistant Professor of the History of Christianity

Office: 209 Gray Bldg., Box_90964, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: (919) 660-3512

mdoerfler@div.duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Thomas J. Ferraro

Frances Hill Fox Professor of English

Office: 323 Allen Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90015

Phone: (919) 684-3718

Fax: (919) 684-4871

ferraro@duke.edu

Professor Ferraro is an aficinado of the great American stuff--Emily Dickinson, Edward Hopper, the Marx Brothers, and Nina Simone--who writes on literature, film, and the performing arts. He is the author of Ethnic Passages: Literary Immigrants in 20th-Century America (U Chicago, 1993), the editor... Full Profile »

Kata Gellen

Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116B Old Chemistry Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3168

Office Hours: Wednesday 10-12 (fall 2014)

kata.gellen@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Bryan Gilliam

Professor of Music

Office: 067 Mary Duke Biddle, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

Fax: (919) 660-3301

bgilliam@duke.edu

Ph.D., Harvard University. Author of books and articles on late 19th-and early 20th-century German music. Specialties include Richard Strauss, Anton Bruckner, German opera, fin-de-siècle Vienna, film music, and American popular song.

Shai Ginsburg

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Office: John Hope Franklin Center, 2204 Erwin Road, Durham, NC 27708-0414

Campus Box: 90414

Phone: (919) 681-4592

Fax: 919 681 7871

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Martin P. Golding

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy

Office: 201K West Duke Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90743

Phone: (919) 660-3062

Fax: (919) 660-3060

golding@law.duke.edu

Main Web Page

Martin P. Golding (Ph.D. 1959, Columbia) joined the Duke faculty on September 1, 1976, as Professor of Philosophy and Law. He has taught at Columbia University and John Jay College of Criminal Justice and held visiting appointments at the University of California (both Berkeley and Los Angeles),... Full Profile »

David Benjamin Goldstein

Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Office: 330 LSRC B-wing, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 91009

Phone: (919) 684-0896

d.goldstein@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Malachi H. Hacohen

Associate Professor of History

Office: 210 Carr Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90719

Phone: (919) 684-6819

Fax: (919) 681-7670

mhacohen@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Beth Holmgren

Professor with Tenure

Office: 316 Languages Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90259

Phone: (919) 660-3140

beth.holmgren@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Claudia Koonz

Peabody Family Professor Emeritus of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

Office: 333 Carr Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90719

Phone: (919) 684-3941

Fax: (919) 681-7670

ckoonz@duke.edu

How does it happen that citizens who consider themselves deeply moral can believe that some of their fellow citizens embody a danger so lethal that they must be eliminated? In "The Nazi Conscience," I examined public culture during the so-called normal years of the Third Reich (1933-1939) and... Full Profile »

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

Office: 118B

Phone: (919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Christy Lohr Sapp

Associate Dean for Religious Life

Campus Box: 90974

Phone: (919) 684-2909

christy.lohr@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Joel Marcus

Professor of New Testament

Office: 217 Gray Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90967

jmarcus@div.duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Carol L. Meyers

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

Office: 227 Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90964

Phone: (919) 660-3514

Fax: (919) 660-3530

carol@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Eric M. Meyers

Bernice and Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies

Office: 230C Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90964

Phone: (919) 660-3517

Fax: (919) 660-3530

Office Hours: By appointment

emc@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Ylana Miller

Visiting Scholar in the Department of History

Office: 318 Carr Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90719

Phone: (919) 668-1611

ymiller@duke.edu

Memory and History: The Eichmann, Trial, Hannah Arendt, and the Construction of Jewish Community

Melvin K. H. Peters

Professor of Religious Studies

melopete@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Shelli Plesser

Lecturer in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Office: 2204 Erwin Road Room 234, Box 90414, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90414

Phone: (919) 403-7860, (919) 684-6104

Fax: (919) 681-7871

shelli@duke.edu

Her interests are focused primarily on the communicative performance of languages with a strong adherence to the Chomskian-generative view of language, language development, and language acquisiton. Shelli is a native Hebrew speaker (she was born and raised in Israel) and has been interested in... Full Profile »

Judith Ruderman

Visiting Professor in the Department of English

Office: 3612 Alman Drive, Durham, NC 27705

Campus Box: 90005

Phone: (919) 489-0421

Office Hours: Fall 2013 By appointment (email)

judith.ruderman@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Steven Sager

Visiting Lecturer in Academic Programs

steve.sager@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Irene Silverblatt

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

Office: 500 W 111th St, Apt 2B, New York, NY 10025

Campus Box: 90091

Phone: (919) 641-0319

Fax: (919) 681-8483

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Irene Silverblatt, Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1981, researches the cultural dimensions of state- building and colonization in Latin America. She is particularly interested in the relation of gender, racial discourses, and historical memory to the construction and experience of power. As a... Full Profile »

Helen Solterer

Professor in the Department of Romance Studies

Office: 217B Languages Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90257

Office Hours: Wednesdays, 5-6 pm.& by appt.

hsolt@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Pre-modern French Literature and Culture; Theater; Gender Criticism; Modern French Cultural History

Rebecca L. Stein

Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

Office: 205 Friedl Building, 1316 Campus Drive Duke Box 900, Durham, NC 27710

Campus Box: 90091

Phone: (919) 684-4663

Fax: (919) 681-8483

rlstein@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Avner Vengosh

Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences

Office: 205 Old Chemistry Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90230

Phone: (919) 681-8050

Fax: 919-684-5833

vengosh@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Priscilla Wald

R. Florence Brinkley Professor of English

Office: 327B Allen Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90015

Phone: (919) 684-6869

Fax: (919) 684-4871

Office Hours: ON LEAVE FALL 2013

pwald@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Annabel J. Wharton

William B. Hamilton Professor of Art and Art History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

Office: 114 South Buchanan Blvd, Smith Warehouse Bay 9, A288A Box 90766, Durham, NC 2770

Campus Box: 90766

wharton@duke.edu

Main Web Page

My work has focused on Late Antique and Byzantine art and culture, but I have also investigated the effect of modernity on the medieval past and its landscapes, first in my study of the first generation of Hilton International Hotels (Building the Cold War: Hilton International Hotels and Modern... Full Profile »

Oded Zinger

Postdoctoral Associate

Office: 322 Gray Building

oded.zinger@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Saskia Ziolkowski

Visiting Assistant Professsor in the Department of Romance Studies

Office: 205 Language Ctr, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90257

Phone: (919) 660-2436

Office Hours: Wednesday 11:20-1:20 in 219A Languages and by appointment. 

saskia.ziolkowski@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Staff

Graduate Students

Lea Greenberg

Student

Phone: (785) 979-6047

lea.greenberg@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Giuseppe Prigiotti

Student

Office: 014 Languages Building

Campus Box: 90257

giuseppe.prigiotti@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Alan William Todd

Department of Religious studies

alan.todd@duke.edu

Full Profile »

EMMA WOELK

Instructor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Old Chemistry

emma.woelk@duke.edu

Full Profile »